critic

Anupama Chopra

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
376
Average rating
47

Order by

Title

Rating

  • War

    ...is very much a bromance which sparkles because Hrithik and Tiger are combative without being competitive. I had a good time. I think you will too.

    Oct 2019
  • Chhichhore

    ...allows us to revisit that first flush of youth. The film never matches the the inspired grunge vibe of In Which Annie Gives it Those Ones (1989) or the magic of Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar. But it’s a satisfying journey back to woh din!

    Sep 2019
  • Saaho

    I know that a popcorn entertainer like Saaho isn’t driven by logic or coherence. And I would have made my peace with it if the film delivered a good time. My biggest complaint is that it’s a crashing bore.

    Aug 2019
  • Batla House

    ...make no mistake, Batla House isn’t a Rashomon-like investigation of many truths. The film is firmly on the side of the beleaguered cops and it makes its point with the subtlety of a sledgehammer. Which is why Batla House will satisfy John Abraham fans. Those biceps were not made for nuances. Viewers looking for a more layered exploration of izzat, farz, desh should probably go elsewhere.

    Aug 2019
  • Jabariya Jodi

    ...is over-plotted – characters keep getting married, kidnapped, nearly married and separated. Folks slap each other, which counts as humor. And the narrative swings wildly like there is no one steering it.

    Aug 2019
  • Khandaani Shafakhana

    The film wants to be funny but the writing is too weak and the feeble jokes are underlined with loud background music, cueing us to laugh. The film also wants to deliver a serious message about the importance of being open about sex – so entire scenes play out like public service announcements, in which characters espouse the cause.

    Aug 2019
  • Arjun Patiala

    No matter how low your bar is, Arjun Patiala won’t meet it. Making movies is hard work and I always try and look for something to recommend in each film. The only plus here is that it’s short. You’ve been warned.

    Jul 2019
  • Article 15

    Article 15 of the Indian Constitution prohibits discrimination on the grounds of religion, race, caste, sex or place of birth but in much of India, caste continues to constitute identity. Article 15 is that rare thing – a mainstream Hindi film that confronts this horror. For that alone, it deserves applause.

    Jun 2019
  • Bharat

    I know nothing about Korean history but by the end of Ode To My Father, I was weeping like a baby. The film is a masterclass in melodrama. In comparison, Bharat is bloated and inconsistent.

    Jun 2019
  • Gone Kesh

    ...I think that this story might have been better served as a short film. There isn’t enough meat here to merit a feature.  The craft also wobbles.

    Mar 2019
  • Kesari

    What does wobble is the writing, which needed to be tighter and more layered. The characters are all one-note and the film is 150 minutes long – the entire first half is an introduction to the characters and a build up to the battle, which only begins in the second.

    Mar 2019
  • Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota

    ...is a fanboy’s ode to the movies.  Writer and director Vasan Bala goes back to his childhood and summons up the films he grew up loving – from Hong Kong martial arts movies to Manmohan Desai.

    Mar 2019
  • Photograph

    ...doesn’t come together as beautifully as The Lunchbox did. The screenplay isn’t as sharp or insightful. In places the film is so quiet that it feels inert. I’m not going to lie – I did get impatient. And yet the next morning, I found myself thinking about Rafi and Miloni. There is a tenderness that stays with you.

    Mar 2019
  • Manikarnika

    ...Kangana has said that 70 percent of it is her work.  If yes, then she is an effective storyteller but the actor in her undermines the director.  Because the actor becomes larger than the narrative. But despite these flaws, Manikarnika reveals Kangana as an artist with boundless ambition and I’m excited to see what she creates next.

    Jan 2019
  • Uri

    ...is an unabashed love letter to the Indian army. If you want nuance or insight into the hearts and minds of brave men and women who willingly put themselves in the line of fire, you won’t find it here.

    Jan 2019