critic

Anupama Chopra

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
399
Average rating
46

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Aladin

    Aladin, directed by Sujoy Ghosh, is a reworking of a beloved children’s story but it’s so convoluted that you can barely follow who is doing what to whom and why.

    39

    Nov 2009
  • Jail

    Bhandarkar’s cinema has often been called hard-hitting but the trouble with Jail is that it simply doesn’t hit hard enough.

    49

    Nov 2009
  • Kurbaan

    Clearly Rensil is a talent to watch. He isn’t afraid to take risks but his ambition and good intentions aren’t matched by the sophistication that this project required.

    49

    Nov 2009
  • De Dana Dan

    And I finally understood why the credits in many Priyadarshan films say filmed by Priyadarshan instead of directed by Priyadarshan. Because there is little sense that someone is actually directing this circus.

    39

    Nov 2009
  • Radio

    ...deliriously awful. Words cannot convey the experience. You have to check it out yourself.

    29

    Dec 2009
  • Rocket Singh

    ...never becomes more than the sum of its parts but still I recommend that you make time for it. Just be prepared to be patient.

    59

    Dec 2009
  • Veer

    If like me, you can find delight in the sheer delirium of a bad Bollywood film, then see Veer, otherwise do catch it on DVD. In a few years, this sensibility and swagger will be extinct.

    49

    Jan 2010
  • Ishqiya

    I know its only January but I think its safe to say that Ishqiya is the most crackling film you’ll see this year. It’s feisty and sly and very, very sexy.

    69

    Jan 2010
  • Striker

    ...is the kind of film that fills you with regret. There is skilful direction here, some nicely etched moments and commendable performances and yet the film never gathers enough momentum to make an impact. Striker never becomes the film it could have been.

    49

    Feb 2010
  • My Name is Khan

    ...never becomes the empowering, inspiring Forest Gump-like epic. Mainly because the connective tissue tying it together is deeply flawed and in places, embarrassingly naive.

    59

    Feb 2010
  • Click

    How hard can it be to make a reasonably diverting horror film if all you’re doing is copying? Well, if you’re Sangeeth Sivan, the answer is: very hard.

    19

    Feb 2010
  • Love Sex Aur Dhokha

    ...the film is a worthy experiment created by one of Bollywood’s most imaginative and original directors. Let me warn you that it is a polarizing film. You’re going to either love it or you’re going to hate it.

    69

    Mar 2010