critic

Baradwaj Rangan

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
388
Average rating
41

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Thappad

    Anubhav Sinha is in a golden zone. Thappad is the third of his “Social Issues trilogy”, if you will, and the weakest of the bunch. (The earlier films are Article 15 and Mulk.) But for all its flaws, the core character, the core conflict is superbly unpacked.

    49

    Mar 2020
  • Marjaavaan

    The film looks like someone sat down and made a bunch of post-its of “must-haves”, and then someone else slapped those post-its onto random pages of the screenplay.

    19

    Nov 2019
  • War

    ...is a defining action movie of our time. It’s Hollywood enough to rock the multiplexes, but it doesn’t forget its roots.

    69

    Oct 2019
  • Bharat

    ...is rooted neither in the cinema traditions of the decades it covers nor is it the designer masala of this day. It’s a series of very perfunctorily staged scenes that flit past us. This happened. And then, this happened. And then this.

    29

    Jun 2019
  • Student Of The Year 2

    ...the clothes, the technicians, the sets, Tiger Shroff — must have cost crores, so why does Arshad Sayed’s script feel like it cost 50 paise? This is a question we keep asking our big-budget productions. SOTY 2 is undernourished and overlong.

    19

    May 2019
  • Kalank

    ...the overall feeling is that of disappointment. Kalank is certainly not a lazy failure, but it ends up being an odd bird: watchable, but neither generic enough to overlook its flaws nor specific enough to embrace with all your heart.

    49

    Apr 2019
  • Gully Boy

    If you’re looking for a good time, Gully Boy is everything you can ask for. It’s just that I wanted it to be more. I wanted it to be the film its lyrics deserved.

    59

    Feb 2019
  • Ek Ladki Ko Dekha Toh Aisa Laga

    This very “safeness” is this film’s secret strength. This isn’t Blue is the Warmest Colour. It’s a YashRaj-style romance with two girls. Without discomfiting the mainstream audience, it makes it possible to talk about a “bedroom subject” in the living room.

    59

    Feb 2019