critic

Mayank Shekhar

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
260
Average rating
41

Order by

Title

Rating

  • Raazi

    This is a meditative version of a war film, subtly weighing in on human loss and ruthlessness, even as it seldom wavers from checking off all the crackling elements of an espionage thriller.

    May 2018
  • Daas Dev

    This rough, dusty roller-coaster ride though is still about the stolen moments (music included), some delightfully wonky folk, crackling scenes (screenplay co-credited to Jaydeep Sarkar), top-notch dialogues, soaked in the patois of contemporary Lucknow (co-credited to Tariq Siddiqui).

    Apr 2018
  • Hichki

    This film’s intentions—even if multiple, and therefore all mixed up—are laudable, no doubt. But, naah, doesn’t quite cut it, you know.

    Mar 2018
  • 3 Storeys

    Internet is really where the scene for this film's genre is. Would I've happily caught this online? Yes. But the invitation is for the big screen? That's being thoda sa ambitious, I think.

    Mar 2018
  • Aiyaary

    ...you can't help but come up with conspiracy theories on how the filmmakers could've so horribly lost the plot.

    Feb 2018
  • Kaalakaandi

    Is it as good as Delhi Belly? As a script? Possibly. As a film, I felt it lacks rhythm, with too much being force-fed to suit the timeline of one never-ending night in Bombay, even if that's the genre. The end might make you go, 'Eh?' But through it all, you're more likely to go, 'Hah!' So nah, I'm not complaining at all.

    Jan 2018
  • Mukkabaaz

    ...marks Kashyap's fab return to a realm he understands and expresses best -- with all its flaws, angst and humour, Tarantino-esque pop-culture references, making it all as distressing as it is frickin' fun and real.

    Jan 2018
  • Kadvi Hawa

    But beyond the obvious sell that combines well with original intent, this is, on the face of it, a uniformly dark, grim, thoroughly meditative film on farmers' suicides...

    Nov 2017
  • Tumhari Sulu

    This film, where Vidya shows up as a vivacious, fat Virar aunty, embodying all the compassions and contradictions within a modern desi woman, is not an exception, by any means. It is really as good as it gets.

    Nov 2017
  • Qarib Qarib Singlle

    This is the sort of script that world champions of the desi rom-com genre would've taken to an altogether level. To be fair, director Tanuja Chandra (in fine form) makes it more than a 'qarib qarib' lovely, and surely worth your while in the theatre.

    Nov 2017
  • Ittefaq

    I also don’t remember the last time I watched a full-on, no-nonsense, whodunit Hindi mainstream murder mystery in a theatre, with no way to talk about it but to urge you to see it, because that’s the only way we can discuss it any further.

    Nov 2017
  • Babumoshai Bandookbaaz

    ...if you took out all the characters and crime-history from Gangs Of Wasseypur, you’ll come close to this. Given what a masterpiece Gangs was, that’s a pretty good compliment by the way!

    Aug 2017
  • Gurgaon

    The relatability and realism of it all, despite the hasty simplicities in the plot, add much to the character.

    Aug 2017
  • Indu Sarkar

    While high on obvious propaganda, low on aesthetics, where Bhandarkar does well is to show the deep disdain the Indian state has for activists, its excessive censorship, the complete lack of an opposition in politics, and a relentless public campaign through events to suggest all's well, when it’s really not.

    Aug 2017
  • Raag Desh

    If this film feels slightly exhausting, even if exhilarating in parts, then that's because it is rather exhaustive in its exposition of facts. History fiends should jump at it right away.

    Jul 2017
  • Jagga Jasoos

    ...for all cause and effect, this is a completely children's movie. Clearly that part of the message doesn't seem to have been relayed well as I look around at the morning show in my theatre, which is half packed, but mainly with young adults—the lead actor's personal fan base. There isn't a single kid. Now that's a bummer.

    Jul 2017
  • Mom

    ...while most thrillers tend to overstay their welcome beyond 90-minutes' screen time, this one doesn't feel almost two-and-half hours long. If anything, far too much is going on here. You might question a lot. But so much of it works.

    Jul 2017
  • Tubelight

    ...contrary to likely audience expectations, this is a film rather subdued on drama, hysteria, and action, although it remains coherent, entertaining, and sincere throughout. More importantly it does not preach to the choir.

    Jun 2017
  • Hindi Medium

    ...the picture very passionately makes a point that could well be a polished mirror to the audience before it. I'm glad I caught it.

    May 2017
  • Sarkar 3

    ...I don't particularly hate this Sarkar, the film. One just begins to feel indifferent towards it beyond a point. Which isn't a good thing, I know. But then, if “it is what it is” kinda casual indifference follows plain dejection, and natural helplessness, then so be it.

    May 2017
  • Begum Jaan

    This picture, though slightly low-budget, is more over-the-top, or bombastic, driven to much melodrama, in the interest of grabbing attention, and popular entertainment, as it were.

    Apr 2017
Page 1 of 912345>>