critic

Mayank Shekhar

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
248
Average rating
41

Order by

Title

Rating

  • Kadvi Hawa

    But beyond the obvious sell that combines well with original intent, this is, on the face of it, a uniformly dark, grim, thoroughly meditative film on farmers' suicides...

    Nov 2017
  • Tumhari Sulu

    This film, where Vidya shows up as a vivacious, fat Virar aunty, embodying all the compassions and contradictions within a modern desi woman, is not an exception, by any means. It is really as good as it gets.

    Nov 2017
  • Qarib Qarib Singlle

    This is the sort of script that world champions of the desi rom-com genre would've taken to an altogether level. To be fair, director Tanuja Chandra (in fine form) makes it more than a 'qarib qarib' lovely, and surely worth your while in the theatre.

    Nov 2017
  • Ittefaq

    I also don’t remember the last time I watched a full-on, no-nonsense, whodunit Hindi mainstream murder mystery in a theatre, with no way to talk about it but to urge you to see it, because that’s the only way we can discuss it any further.

    Nov 2017
  • Babumoshai Bandookbaaz

    ...if you took out all the characters and crime-history from Gangs Of Wasseypur, you’ll come close to this. Given what a masterpiece Gangs was, that’s a pretty good compliment by the way!

    Aug 2017
  • Gurgaon

    The relatability and realism of it all, despite the hasty simplicities in the plot, add much to the character.

    Aug 2017
  • Indu Sarkar

    While high on obvious propaganda, low on aesthetics, where Bhandarkar does well is to show the deep disdain the Indian state has for activists, its excessive censorship, the complete lack of an opposition in politics, and a relentless public campaign through events to suggest all's well, when it’s really not.

    Aug 2017
  • Raag Desh

    If this film feels slightly exhausting, even if exhilarating in parts, then that's because it is rather exhaustive in its exposition of facts. History fiends should jump at it right away.

    Jul 2017
  • Jagga Jasoos

    ...for all cause and effect, this is a completely children's movie. Clearly that part of the message doesn't seem to have been relayed well as I look around at the morning show in my theatre, which is half packed, but mainly with young adults—the lead actor's personal fan base. There isn't a single kid. Now that's a bummer.

    Jul 2017
  • Mom

    ...while most thrillers tend to overstay their welcome beyond 90-minutes' screen time, this one doesn't feel almost two-and-half hours long. If anything, far too much is going on here. You might question a lot. But so much of it works.

    Jul 2017
  • Tubelight

    ...contrary to likely audience expectations, this is a film rather subdued on drama, hysteria, and action, although it remains coherent, entertaining, and sincere throughout. More importantly it does not preach to the choir.

    Jun 2017
  • Hindi Medium

    ...the picture very passionately makes a point that could well be a polished mirror to the audience before it. I'm glad I caught it.

    May 2017
  • Sarkar 3

    ...I don't particularly hate this Sarkar, the film. One just begins to feel indifferent towards it beyond a point. Which isn't a good thing, I know. But then, if “it is what it is” kinda casual indifference follows plain dejection, and natural helplessness, then so be it.

    May 2017
  • Begum Jaan

    This picture, though slightly low-budget, is more over-the-top, or bombastic, driven to much melodrama, in the interest of grabbing attention, and popular entertainment, as it were.

    Apr 2017
  • Naam Shabana

    The filmmakers go back to explore Shabana's back-story. What is it that you might want to know about her? Precious little, by the looks of it.

    Mar 2017
  • Anaarkali Of Aarah

    It's hard to come across a performance so gut-wrenchingly real. It's hard to tell Swara from Anaarkali of Arrah, who's thankfully not another 'abla nari' either.

    Mar 2017
  • Trapped

    That 'Trapped' manages to grippingly hold your attention with such an underwhelming setting is an achievement in itself. That it could invade your senses makes it worth every minute, without any break, in the theatre.

    Mar 2017
  • Badrinath Ki Dulhania

    Both the Shashank Khaitan movie and Varun Dhawan's character have very few redeeming features. This seems like a film from the '90s. In the '90s, of course, one could get away with all kinds of stuff.

    Mar 2017
  • Rangoon

    ...too many things have been mixed into one film. But attempted with eye-popping chutzpah. Over years, it's another matter if you've liked all his movies or not, what you have to credit Bhardwaj for is sheer audacity, and flight of imagination. He takes a chance.

    Feb 2017
  • The Ghazi Attack

    The captain of this sturdy ship, or director (Sankalp Reddy), as it were, I'm told, is a young first-time filmmaker from Hyderabad. Now that's the guy to watch out for.

    Feb 2017
  • Raees

    Sure, we'd love to see SRK attempt his own version of a Pablo Escobar. For now, Raees will certainly do.

    Jan 2017
  • Kaabil

    ... if you were to keep your eyes glued to the screen and follow the blind man's graphite walking stick right down to the picture's climax, I'm fairly certain you won't be disappointed. Yeah, it is, for the most part, kaabil-e-tareef!

    Jan 2017
  • Dangal

    ... a wholly enjoyable ride in the theatre, yet again. Don't think I need to say more. You won't miss this anyway.

    Dec 2016
Page 1 of 912345>>