critic

Namrata Joshi

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
388
Average rating
39

Order by

Title

Rating

  • Jhootha Kahin Ka

    ...Kang can’t stop the humour turning loud and crass with double entendre slipping in, specially when it comes to women. It’s not just the sexist jokes, here the women are rendered deliberately vapid and inconsequential...

    Jul 2019
  • Super 30

    A salutary cause and an inspirational story about the triumph of the underdog doesn’t necessarily make an engaging film.

    Jul 2019
  • Setters

    Chaudhary gets the milieu, lingo and the social nuances and hierarchies right and has a fabulous ensemble of actors, some in smaller roles, but the film doesn’t hit a high note.

    May 2019
  • Kalank

    You could say that I am being overly righteous and needlessly cautious here but the climax left me discomfited and disturbed.

    Apr 2019
  • No Fathers In Kashmir

    Kumar comes with a solid background in documentary filmmaking and has sound grounding in the politics of the State (Inshallah, Football and Inshallah, Kashmir), the reason one would have expected a far more searing and incisive account in the film than what one eventually gets to watch.

    Apr 2019
  • Romeo Akbar Walter

    Fashioned along the lines of the childish, old-fashioned B-grade Bollywood-Hollywood thrillers, RAW is all about the hidden transmitters and surveillance rooms and gratuitous third degree torture in ISI detention centres, laughable polygraph tests and sundry similar procedurals and investigations.

    Apr 2019
  • Junglee

    There is a sweet stray dog and magnificent tuskers and an unintended nostalgia unleashed for Haathi Mere Saathi. I came out raving about Kulkarni's fitness and agility and Jammwal’s voice and jawline. But that wasn’t quite the point of the film, was it?

    Mar 2019
  • Kesari

    All that has stayed on with me is the landscape—the brown, arid earth pitted against the majesty of the snow-laden, silver mountains. If only panoramic settings could make a good film.

    Mar 2019
  • Photograph

    ...I was also left feeling a sense of void and dissatisfaction, in that it barely scratches the surface of what could have been a far deeper engagement.

    Mar 2019
  • Hamid

    ..given the recent turn of events it’s the very simplicity, humaneness and a sense of poise that resonates, connects and is profoundly moving.

    Mar 2019
  • Sonchiriya

    It’s an intricately woven script which strings many threads and themes together—crisply, economically with hardly a note out of place. The sure-footedness, self-assurance all adding to a deadly impact.

    Mar 2019
  • Gully Boy

    ...it’s a classic, empathetic underdog story with a crowd pleasing, feel good finale about turning your imperfect reality into a long-cherished and impossible fantasy.

    Feb 2019
  • Bombairiya

    This kind of multiple stories device has been used time and again in cinema to great effect. Bombairiya, however, is a call to give it a long, if not permanent, rest in Bollywood. Its use in the film feels entirely needless...

    Jan 2019
  • Uri

    At times I found myself standing clear of my own political biases to acknowledge his engaging craft. At other moments, I broke away from the film’s emotional sway to question its politics.

    Jan 2019
  • Simmba

    Be it as brutal violators or patronising saviours of women, Simmba shows that it all boils down to the same toxic masculinity which the men behind Simmba have been perpetuating film after film. There is a saying in Hindi: “Sau choohe khake billi haj ko chali (After eating a hundred rats the cat goes on a pilgrimage)”. Need I say more?

    Dec 2018
  • Zero

    The characteristic outstretched arms of SRK get smaller, as does his height, the creative ambition gets bigger but the film stays resolutely middling when it could have been much more.

    Dec 2018