critic

Shubhra Gupta

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
772
Average rating
37

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Thappad

    ...there is not a shred of doubt that Sinha has made an important, crucial film, which shows up centuries of male entitlement for what it is. And how all it takes, from a woman who just wants self-respect, is a decision to say no, Not Even One Slap.

    69

    Feb 2020
  • Shikara

    A more nuanced sense of history would have made this film much more complete, even if you were to put aside the enormous irony of watching a film about a place which has been in lock-down for the past six months: when will the people in the valley be able to watch Shikara, and tell us what they think?

    49

    Feb 2020
  • Street Dancer 3D

    The first thing a good dance movie ought to do is give us numbers that make us want to leap up to our feet right there in the aisle, and go shake-shimmy-shake. On that score alone, Street Dancer 3D, the third in the ABCD line, flubs it.

    29

    Jan 2020
  • Tanhaji

    ...we are so steeped in Bollywood’s patriots re-creating paeans to our glorious past, that to even bring up the fact that the bad guys are your Muslim ‘outsiders’, seems to belabour the point. For this film, it’s simple; either you are on our side, or theirs.

    39

    Jan 2020
  • Chhapaak

    You look at Padukone, so far away from the dressed-up, made-up parts she’s done till now, and acknowledge an actor who wants to break out of her safe zone, to actually inhabit someone else’s skin even if it’s burnt. Yes, it’s worthy, but it’s also very watchable.

    69

    Jan 2020
  • Good Newwz

    ...so refreshing to have something so out-of-the-box (another word for ‘risky’) come out of an industry whose default option is to play safe by churning out tired, jaded sequels of tired, jaded super-starry vehicles.

    59

    Dec 2019
  • The Body

    There’s enough meat in the story for it to have been an engaging thriller. But it’s been a while since I watched such an inept film. Everything in it is flat: the plot, the performers, the alleged twists.

    19

    Dec 2019
  • Mardaani 2

    We need more strong female leads in our movies. We just don’t need them to be surrounded by misogyny and dialogues which lead the audience to cheer when the men mouth lines which aim low.

    49

    Dec 2019
  • Pati Patni Aur Woh

    Our ‘pati’ may have redeemed himself, and the ‘patni’ and ‘woh’ may have lifted the film somewhat, but to wish for good taste in a comedy dealing with straying husbands and wives-and-other-women-in-holding patterns is no laughing matter.

    39

    Dec 2019
  • Commando 3

    Though Jamwal does the heroic things, like thumping thugs and rescuing fair maidens, it is Devaiah who steals the show in this patchily plotted, predictable actioner.

    39

    Nov 2019
  • The Sky Is Pink

    ...barring some passages, it feels both constructed and sentimental. With the material at hand, you expect a legitimate heart-breaker ( how else can you look at a young life threatening to be cut short?) but this one left me mostly unmoved.

    39

    Oct 2019
  • War

    The chief trouble with War is that all the space is divvied up between Hrithik and Tiger, and they are so busy strutting across the screen, in all their glory, so ripped, so brawny, that the poor baddies don’t really get a chance.

    39

    Oct 2019