publication

Film Companion

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
135
Average rating
45

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Kaamyaab

    The film has heart but it doesn’t deliver the emotional heft or depth that a showbiz film like Luck By Chance did because the writing isn’t sharp enough.

    49

    Mar 2020
  • Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan

    In an interview, Ayushmann described Shubh Mangal Zyada Saavdhan as an introduction to homosexuality for an average Indian homophobe. The film might work as that. But for those of us who aren’t in this target group, it doesn’t connect enough. Though it’s heartening that with this film and Ek Ladki Ko Dekha Toh Aisa Laga last year, Bollywood has at least begun the conversation.

    49

    Feb 2020
  • Bhoot – Part One

    Bhanu plays with the usual horror tropes – creaking doors, found footage, mirrors, children, dolls and cell-phones not working exactly when you need them. Which isn’t the problem. You pretty much sign up for this when you go into a horror film. The trouble is that beyond the first hour, the screenplay gets repetitive and increasingly silly.

    29

    Feb 2020
  • Love Aaj Kal

    ...is a confounding film about confused people. Perhaps writer-director Imtiaz Ali was attempting to have the storytelling reflect the emotions of his leads. The result is an unholy mess.

    39

    Feb 2020
  • Jawaani Jaaneman

    ...doesn’t become more than the sum of its parts. I’m a big admirer of Nitin’s first film Filmistaan, in which he combined humor, pathos and depth with a skillful lightness. I wish Jawaani Jaaneman had delivered more.

    49

    Jan 2020
  • Street Dancer 3D

    For the running time of this film – two hours and twenty-four minutes – people are pirouetting, leaping, flipping, contorting and moving their limbs in impossible ways. Watching them, I thought – if the script was half as nimble as these gifted people, this film would have been a smash. Sadly, that is not the case.

    39

    Jan 2020
  • Panga

    Some will argue that Panga is too sanitized and optimistic. The actual struggle of a mother picking up a career again is much harder. Of course it is. But for now, I’ll take the warmth and hope that this film offers. I think you should too.

    59

    Jan 2020
  • Tanhaji

    ...there is no room here for nuance or arcs. Actors play outsized, one-note characters. The Marathas, with a few exceptions, are valiant, noble warriors who sacrifice their lives for their motherland. The Mughals are largely avaricious usurpers who demand ‘jaat’ and ‘jaan’.

    39

    Jan 2020
  • Chhapaak

    ...hovers dangerously close to becoming a public service announcement. The messaging becomes bigger than the movie, which reduces the impact.

    49

    Jan 2020
  • Panipat

    This is writing by committee and it shows on screen – instead of an organic story, we get a fractured, leaden structure that moves from one scene to another with the help of a voice-over and animated maps.

    39

    Dec 2019
  • Bypass Road

    My takeaway from Bypass Road is that perhaps it isn’t such a good idea to let an actor write a script, play the lead role, co-produce the film and have his brother direct it. Because then what you get isn’t a film, it’s a showreel.

    19

    Nov 2019
  • Motichoor Chaknachoor

    ...the film doesn’t become memorable in the way that other small-town tales like Dum Laga Ke Haisha or Bareilly ki Barfi or Stree were. But it’s passable entertainment. And sometimes that’s enough.

    49

    Nov 2019
  • Ujda Chaman

    The biggest problem with Ujda Chaman is that the film wants to have it both ways – first make you laugh with cheesy jokes about sex and virginity and then deliver an important social message about why we shouldn’t judge people by their looks.

    39

    Nov 2019
  • War

    ...is a defining action movie of our time. It’s Hollywood enough to rock the multiplexes, but it doesn’t forget its roots.

    69

    Oct 2019
  • War

    ...is very much a bromance which sparkles because Hrithik and Tiger are combative without being competitive. I had a good time. I think you will too.

    59

    Oct 2019
  • Chhichhore

    ...allows us to revisit that first flush of youth. The film never matches the the inspired grunge vibe of In Which Annie Gives it Those Ones (1989) or the magic of Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar. But it’s a satisfying journey back to woh din!

    59

    Sep 2019
  • Saaho

    I know that a popcorn entertainer like Saaho isn’t driven by logic or coherence. And I would have made my peace with it if the film delivered a good time. My biggest complaint is that it’s a crashing bore.

    29

    Aug 2019