publication

Film Companion

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
100
Average rating
46

Order by

Title

Rating

  • Article 15

    Article 15 of the Indian Constitution prohibits discrimination on the grounds of religion, race, caste, sex or place of birth but in much of India, caste continues to constitute identity. Article 15 is that rare thing – a mainstream Hindi film that confronts this horror. For that alone, it deserves applause.

    Jun 2019
  • Bharat

    ...is rooted neither in the cinema traditions of the decades it covers nor is it the designer masala of this day. It’s a series of very perfunctorily staged scenes that flit past us. This happened. And then, this happened. And then this.

    Jun 2019
  • Bharat

    I know nothing about Korean history but by the end of Ode To My Father, I was weeping like a baby. The film is a masterclass in melodrama. In comparison, Bharat is bloated and inconsistent.

    Jun 2019
  • Student Of The Year 2

    ...the clothes, the technicians, the sets, Tiger Shroff — must have cost crores, so why does Arshad Sayed’s script feel like it cost 50 paise? This is a question we keep asking our big-budget productions. SOTY 2 is undernourished and overlong.

    May 2019
  • Gone Kesh

    ...I think that this story might have been better served as a short film. There isn’t enough meat here to merit a feature.  The craft also wobbles.

    Mar 2019
  • Kesari

    What does wobble is the writing, which needed to be tighter and more layered. The characters are all one-note and the film is 150 minutes long – the entire first half is an introduction to the characters and a build up to the battle, which only begins in the second.

    Mar 2019
  • Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota

    ...is a fanboy’s ode to the movies.  Writer and director Vasan Bala goes back to his childhood and summons up the films he grew up loving – from Hong Kong martial arts movies to Manmohan Desai.

    Mar 2019
  • Photograph

    ...doesn’t come together as beautifully as The Lunchbox did. The screenplay isn’t as sharp or insightful. In places the film is so quiet that it feels inert. I’m not going to lie – I did get impatient. And yet the next morning, I found myself thinking about Rafi and Miloni. There is a tenderness that stays with you.

    Mar 2019
  • Gully Boy

    If you’re looking for a good time, Gully Boy is everything you can ask for. It’s just that I wanted it to be more. I wanted it to be the film its lyrics deserved.

    Feb 2019
  • Manikarnika

    ...Kangana has said that 70 percent of it is her work.  If yes, then she is an effective storyteller but the actor in her undermines the director.  Because the actor becomes larger than the narrative. But despite these flaws, Manikarnika reveals Kangana as an artist with boundless ambition and I’m excited to see what she creates next.

    Jan 2019
  • Uri

    ...is an unabashed love letter to the Indian army. If you want nuance or insight into the hearts and minds of brave men and women who willingly put themselves in the line of fire, you won’t find it here.

    Jan 2019
  • Zero

    ...left me stumped and eventually, sad. Because when artists take such ambitious creative risks, you are really rooting for them to succeed.

    Dec 2018