publication

Hindustan Times

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
687
Average rating
45

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Thappad

    Sinha’s Thappad is the much needed slap everyone needed to break the silence and call out the wrong. Even if it doesn’t lead to things changing overnight, it certainly has started a debate, a dialogue that can make way for some change sooner or later.

    79

    Feb 2020
  • Shikara

    ...touches your heart while making you smile and cry at the same time. Chopra does justice to his direction though a much hard-hitting narrative is what one continues to wait for.

    59

    Feb 2020
  • Malang

    It rides on the thrill quotient, has some good performances and a good looking pair at its centre but that’s about it. The plot ends up looking like a mockery of a subject that needed a better storytelling.

    49

    Feb 2020
  • Panga

    ...this wholesome family film is a must watch for the way it is told, for being real and for the emotional chord it strikes with you from the very beginning.

    69

    Jan 2020
  • Chhapaak

    ...is a story that makes you sob and smile at the same time. It’s a sensitive, brave and gut-wrenching story that’s not easy to watch, but definitely worth telling.

    69

    Jan 2020
  • Mardaani 2

    ...is a story that everyone knows about, but it still needs to be told again. There are moments that make us cringe, but if we can watch 24-hour news cycle then this film is certainly the need of the hour to make our voices heard.

    69

    Dec 2019
  • Panipat

    ...is an honest attempt at recreating the war that we only read in history books until now. It’s a tribute to the Maratha community in its truest form and even it was shorter by an hour, it could have had the same impact.

    59

    Dec 2019
  • Commando 3

    With the story and the message that the director intended to convey, it could have been easily wrapped up in a crisp hour and a half, but brevity doesn’t seem to be the strong point here. Only time when you feel adrenaline rush is when bones break and the background score amps up.

    49

    Nov 2019
  • Pagalpanti

    ...appears to be a collection of improvised scenes rather than a film made from a real script. The performances are wooden, dialogues stilted and regressive, and the story – well, there isn’t one. This one is best avoided.

    19

    Nov 2019
  • Satellite Shankar

    ...is a pleasant watch that makes you pause and think if we are doing enough for our soldiers who put their lives at stake at the borders so that we can live safely. Did it sound preachy? Yes, but that aside, you wish it was only confined to the heroic tales of men in uniform.

    59

    Nov 2019
  • Saand Ki Aankh

    ...is an absolute family entertainer that needs to be watched with your grandmother. Celebrate womanhood as you take home a message that is inspiring but will take decades to seep into our society.

    69

    Oct 2019
  • Prassthanam

    An intriguing political drama exploring human nature, complex relationships, emotional turmoil and hunger for power, Prassthanam needed a revamp, at least in the treatment of story and the screenplay. However, some brilliant performances make it watchable.

    49

    Sep 2019