publication

MidDay

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
732
Average rating
47

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Chhapaak

    ...subtly puts a lot of such debates into perspective. We should be proud of it. As we are, of Padukone fronting and backing it, of course.

    79

    Jan 2020
  • Tanhaji

    This isn't a perfect film, drags its feet at certain places, but coming from the bland battle of Panipat just a month ago, this clash between the Marathas and the Mughals would any day be a better option!

    59

    Jan 2020
  • Chhapaak

    ...Padukone's under-stated presence more than matches this picture's intention, as the film flits between a court-room drama, and anecdotal storytelling.

    79

    Jan 2020
  • Good Newwz

    ...this is precisely what the makers wished to do, throw everything to the audience, from romance to comedy to drama and package their creation as wholesome entertainment. Good Newwz wishes to achieve that.

    69

    Dec 2019
  • Dabangg 3

    ...there's no point intellectualising, analyzing, mentally masturbating over a movie that makes no bones about its severely lowbrow, literally below-the-belt purpose.

    39

    Dec 2019
  • Pati Patni Aur Woh

    ...a whole lot of random desi-lad humour, in what's essentially a naughty-uncle comedy about the wife, and woh (the other woman). Couldn't find anything funny here. Surely this sort of stuff has an audience. Hope the film finds it then.

    29

    Dec 2019
  • Panipat

    As much as you want to admire the craft, you cannot deny this could have been a far more rousing portrayal of one of history's most fascinating and frightening chapters, had it been with better performers.

    49

    Dec 2019
  • Pagalpanti

    Actors participating in such comedies usually say in interviews and write on social media how their films are not for critics and request the audiences to leave their brains at home. I did exactly that, didn't apply any logic or brain, all I desired was laughter... where's that? Whom should I talk to now?

    29

    Nov 2019
  • Bala

    It's almost as if the film has been designed to clear every headspace and leg/elbow room for the leading man Ayushmann to spread his wings and soar. And boy, does he shine—perhaps outshining anything he's done in the mainstream space so far.

    69

    Nov 2019
  • Housefull 4

    The spurt in comedies crowding the multiplexes could be pinned on the economic slump, but the writing here points at a more graver concern — the creative recession gripping the Hindi film industry.

    39

    Oct 2019
  • Housefull 4

    If the makers think running gags about pigeon and pig poop are funny, they all may have graduated from the Sajid Khan school of filmmaking, the master of puerile and asinine humour.

    29

    Oct 2019
  • Saand Ki Aankh

    There's something so desperately missing in the general rhythm and tone of this film that beyond a point, not just the audience, even the filmmakers seem unable to decide on whether this is a high-octane melodrama, set to appease junta-class.

    39

    Oct 2019
  • Made In China

    Sure the film, rather overtly, tackles too many things in one go. Most of it presented quite directly on a platter/bowl. But underneath all of this is an ingenious subject that so neatly captures the spirit of the current times—Indian entrepreneurship (call it 'jugaad'), and China (basically 'sasta maal').

    59

    Oct 2019
  • The Zoya Factor

    The film has a winning premise, just like the book it has been inspired by, Anuja Chauhan's The Zoya Factor, but Abhishek Sharma and Chauhan herself, fail to give the same magic and madness to the adaptation.

    49

    Sep 2019
  • Dream Girl

    Now should we think about the finesse of filmmaking here (there's very little of it), or gags overstaying their welcome (some of them do), or the political correctness of some of these small-town/mohalla gags... Should we think, about? Don't. Seriously, don't.

    59

    Sep 2019
  • Section 375

    ...is a crackling film that delves into the subject wisely, talking of issues that we are only happy to brush under our carpets and bury in our closets. It’s by far one of 2019’s best film and I recommend you give this one a dekko for sure.

    79

    Sep 2019
  • Chhichhore

    It's almost like the writer-director, at a living-room, is regaling you with anecdotes and blokes from his hostel life in an engineering campus. In fact, that's how this plot is also narrated in the film — to the lead character's son, who, along with the audience, is hearing all of this for the first time.

    79

    Sep 2019
  • Saaho

    They let loose on an eager audience merely set-pieces in quick succession, and so much random anth-shanth, akar-bakar, that it becomes impossible to saho (bear) Saaho, once you get closer to three hours.

    29

    Aug 2019
  • Mission Mangal

    This is actually a pretty sweet, syrupy film, in a schmaltzy sort of way, full of Hallmark card type quotable quotes, on success and life, and all that jazz. To a point that you may even forget sometimes that it's entirely a space-mission movie to begin with.

    59

    Aug 2019
  • Batla House

    Here's what the film compels you to do though. Read up more and more about the case. This is already saying a lot. Last time that happened? Maybe Anurag Kashyap's Black Friday? Woah, now that's a seriously tall compliment.

    69

    Aug 2019