critic

Anna M.M. Vetticad

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
398
Average rating
42

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Thappad

    ...is designed to make us uncomfortable about our milieu and compel us to introspect about our own complicity in patriarchy. It also shines a light on patriarchy and gender-based violence across class divides.

    69

    Mar 2020
  • Chhapaak

    ...means well, no doubt, but the screenplay is surprisingly thin – surprising because of Meghna’s brilliance with Raazi and Talvar. Combine that with plotline weaknesses, an excessive effort to stay low key and the unexpected shot at being a conformist fairytale in the end, and the result is a film that seems curiously detached from its heroine, despite the devastating true story that inspired it.

    49

    Jan 2020
  • Panipat

    ...is shorn of Padmaavat and Kesari's insidious intent, but it is not exactly an innocent, truthful chronicler of Indian history. Add to that its lack of polish and spark, and for all its occasional positives, it ends up as just an average affair.

    39

    Dec 2019
  • Bala

    ...inconsistent characterisation and the team's lack of awareness of their own prejudice robs Bala of much of its value.

    49

    Nov 2019
  • Made In China

    ...fails to hit the bull's eye because it sorely needed an evening out of pace and tone, depth of characterisation and detailing in the plotline.

    39

    Oct 2019
  • Dream Girl

    Just when you think Dream Girl has succumbed to what critics have in the past called The Curse of the Second Half though, it picks up once again thanks to certain cast members with unfailing comic timing.

    49

    Sep 2019
  • Chhichhore

    The writing of Chhichhore (by Tiwari himself with Nikhil Mehrotra and Piyush Gupta) is so lacking in depth, and the direction so passionless that it is hard to believe it is brought to us by the same person who made Dangal. Despite its sporadic bursts of humour, Chhichhore comes across as a half-hearted enterprise.

    33

    Sep 2019
  • Mission Mangal

    ...is fun and educational at one level, but make no mistake about this: its veneer of progressiveness masks a highly conservative, prejudiced core.

    39

    Aug 2019
  • Malaal

    ...an inexorably dull retelling of the clichéd conviction so many people hold in real life: that a good woman can reform even the worst of men.

    09

    Jul 2019
  • Article 15

    ...is the best that Indian cinema can be in these troubled times if it chooses to hold a mirror up to our society, compelling us to confront the worst that we are and the best that we can be when we are not busy saving our own skins. 

    89

    Jun 2019
  • Kabir Singh

    Kabir Singh and its Telugu forebear Arjun Reddy must rank among the most disturbing examples of the obsessive stalker hero being glamourised by Indian cinema.

    19

    Jun 2019
  • Bharat

    Far from being a Forrest Gump with Salman Khan, Bharat is mostly a plodding trek through post-1947 to contemporary India.

    39

    Jun 2019