publication

Anupama Chopra

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
104
Average rating
49

Order by

Title

Rating

  • Mastram

    There are so many ideas here about writing, sexual desire, fantasy, hypocrisy, the artist in the market-place, but they remain unexplored. Mastram is an opportunity lost.

    May 2014
  • Revolver Rani

    If you like uplifting, cheerful cinema, then this isn’t the movie for you. But if, like me, you can enjoy bad people doing bad things, then Revolver Rani will be fun.

    Apr 2014
  • Bhoothnath Returns

    ...is unnecessarily bloated. It has far too much sermonising. The narrative is simplistic and naïve. And yet I recommend that you see the film — because it is also heartfelt, genuinely moving and, for the first half at least, slyly funny.

    Apr 2014
  • Ragini MMS - 2

    The problem is that the characters are such insipid, low-IQ cretins that you are hoping that the murderous chudail gets them soon. The writing is so sloppy that eventually it becomes unintentionally funny.

    Mar 2014
  • Lakshmi

    Honestly, I can’t wholeheartedly recommend Lakshmi. In places, it’s repulsive and yet, it demands to be seen. So you decide for yourselves.

    Mar 2014
  • Gulaab Gang

    For a real dose of women empowerment, watch Gulabi Gang, a terrific documentary on Sampat Pal, which is still running in select theaters. Gulaab Gang is the masala remix.

    Mar 2014
  • Queen

    Ultimately Queen is Kangana’s triumph. I left the theatre thinking about Rani and how the rest of her life would pan out. It’s not often you do that with a Bollywood character. This one is special.

    Mar 2014
  • Highway

    Imtiaz skillfully creates moments that are at once, tender, funny and fragile. But my problem was that I simply didn’t buy into the story.

    Feb 2014
  • Miss Lovely

    Yes, it is an acquired taste. But Ashim Ahluwalia’s distinct and intriguing voice is one more sign of how fundamentally and excitingly the Hindi film topography is changing.

    Jan 2014
  • Dhoom 3

    ...see Dhoom 3 with your expectations at half-mast. It's not the popcorn thrill ride that I expected. There isn't enough joy in it. But Aamir and the stupendous action make it worth watching.

    Dec 2013
Page 1 of 41234