critic

Baradwaj Rangan

Highest rating for
Lowest rating for
Number of reviews
388
Average rating
41

Order by

Date

Title

Rating

  • Pyaar Impossible

    That such a mating is possible is the fiction we need these films to feed us – why else would we watch rom-coms? – and yet you can’t help wishing that the fantasy weren’t so many light years removed from reality.

    39

    Jan 2010
  • Ishqiya

    On a basic level, Ishqiya is extremely entertaining, and yet, it’s hard to shake off the suspicion that it could have been so much more given its initial promise about a refreshingly adult approach to love, an emotion that has been infantilised by most of our filmmakers.

    49

    Jan 2010
  • Striker

    We are always aware of the broad-strokes version of all that happened, but the lives of these people don’t possess the texture of their intricately etched-out surroundings. We’re drawn adroitly into the feel of the film, but we don’t feel for its characters.

    49

    Feb 2010
  • Click

    ...what could have been a prime entry in the hitherto underserved elegiac-horror-as-gothic-romance subgenre is reduced to a mere jump-out-of-your-seats exercise.

    39

    Feb 2010
  • Well Done Abba

    With no one to particularly invest in, Well Done Abba turns dull very quickly – and it doesn’t help that complex issues are raised and redressed with insulting simple-mindedness.

    39

    Mar 2010
  • Prince

    Gulati cannot decide if he wants to emulate a superhero movie or if he’d rather tap into a more human dimension, with the hero in a limbo after having lost his mind. The film itself exists in a bit of a limbo...

    29

    Apr 2010
  • Chase

    The refrain in the title track – “Get, set, go…” – might well be a cautionary injunction to the unwitting viewer settling into his seat.

    19

    May 2010
  • Housefull

    The problem, as always, is that our filmmakers confuse no-brainer entertainment with no-brainer filmmaking. Housefull is far too long and laden with far too many emotional subplots to function fully as comedy.

    19

    May 2010
  • It's a Wonderful Afterlife

    ...after the enjoyably batty It’s A Wonderful Afterlife, I suppose it’s time to wonder how Gurinder Chadha was drawn to an empowerment saga like Bend It Like Beckham in the first place. Her talents seem to be those of a natural-born farceur...

    49

    May 2010